HouseHop.co.uk - Sell your house ONLINE
The Online Estate Agents

Reviews

Welcome to our review page. The reviews on this page have been sent to us by clients who have used us as an online estate agent to sell their properties or who have used one of the solicitors from our conveyancing panel. We’ve also added information you might find useful, such as how much they saved and how many days it took them to sell.


Property Name Review Amount
saved
Date
sold
Days
to sell
Neil & Kate Tandy “Karen, Nat & John have been extremely helpful throughout, nothing is too much trouble. We have been particularly impressed with the prompt, efficient service we have received. HouseHop was recommended to us and I would not hesitate to recommend HouseHop to anyone who would like to sell their house, whilst saving money!” £2,276 26.11.2012 38
Paul and Rosemary Speakman "House Hop has worked for us! The staff at House Hop have been very helpful and supportive and were £3000 cheaper than the local high street estate agent. We would certainly recommend them and will definitely organise for them to sell me father’s house later this year." £3,308 24.9.2012 181
Goran and Goga Wilhelm "So far (understand House Hop will be involved all the way through to completion - please keep it up), we were happy with the service. Customer calls have been promptly forwarded, feedback provided, useful suggestions made. At all times we learned what we wanted.

We would certainly recommend House Hop and online agency over the traditional estate agents. Not only it saved us thousand of pounds in fees, we experienced service at least as good as, got serious offers and have agreed sale within six months of going to market. "
£7,803 20.9.2012 148
SH “Would definitely recommend and have already recommended HouseHop to friends, both Karen and Nat have been very helpful with the process, making it easy to deal with. The property was only on the market for a few weeks before I accepted an offer and it generated a lot of interest from the moment that HouseHop advertised it.
I found the staff friendly, approachable and genuine and felt that I could comfortably talk to them and input any of my own ideas in the notice advertisement for it. Some sellers may not like having to show visitors round but for me, despite working, it was easier since I could answer any queries myself and it all saved me a large amount of money as a result. A definite recommendation!”
£7,827 19.9.2012 14
Kate Hebden “We are extremely happy with the service provided by Househop. The photos and floorplan were done quickly and were very good, we had quite a few viewings. Our house sold quickly and they were very professional and friendly.
We saved over £6,000 going with Househop and are already recommending them to family and friends. We would not use a traditional estate agent again - there really is no need. Special thanks to Nat who always kept us informed and returned calls quickly. Thank you very much”
£6,261 8.9.2012 11
Cheryl Boyce "I think its fair to say I had a few reservations in choosing Househop as I have always used traditional high street estate agents. Those reservations quickly disappeared with my first few contacts with John Tighe at Househop. He called me after my online enquiry the very next day and we had a very pleasing chat on the phone. I didn't feel any pressure and he seemed genuinely keen in helping me sell my house.

Naturally the price was a big incentive with choosing to book. I saved over 75% on what I would have paid to an estate agent locally. Once I signed the contract the surveyor came out within a week and the property was online within 24 hours of the photos and floor plan being taken. All in all I felt this was very impressive. Viewings commenced almost straight away with regular calls from Househop confirming bookings and then providing feedback. 14 weeks later we are sold STC and I couldn't be more pleased.

Househop also recommended a solicitor Mackenzie Jones and I have also been very pleased with their service so far. Give Househop a go! I have absolutely no regrets and will recommend them to anyone."
£6,315 7.9.2012 107
Phil Hicks "The online estate agent experience is amazing. I wondered whether it would work smoothly selling in the specialist market of Notting Hill. Answer: no problem, 16 viewing enquiries in 24 hours, and viewer number 6 offered the asking price. Photos and floor plans were excellent, then the description was drafted really fast, and went online as soon as the final version was agreed. Communication was very good. I think if a local agent had been in the position of trying to schedule viewings so rapidly it would only have slowed the process down, whereas House Hop could send interested viewers round to the flat almost back to back.

I spoke to local agents who refused to budge from their 2% fees so we will have saved £8700 plus vat by doing a day of viewings. Local estate agents now have a tough competition on their hands! I would recommend House Hop to anyone who can do their own viewings, and have been telling everyone they should try selling this way, since searching for property online is now so popular. Also, the local agents I spoke to were as often, arrogant and discourteous. Your team has been a pleasure to work with."
£10,504 1.9.2012 2
Matt & Gemma Collins “We have been extremely impressed with HouseHop. A sale that would have cost around £4,500 with a high street estate agent cost only just over £500. A board was put up promptly, and the online adverts and photographs were done very professionally. We had much interest in our house due to the quality of the coverage and HouseHop were excellent in organising viewings, taking feedback and analysing our weekly online statistics.
They were also on hand for general advice and got back to us quickly and thoroughly. One of the biggest compliments I can pay is actually from our eventual buyers who commented on how efficient and professional HouseHop were in arranging appointments and providing them with information about the property. I would recommend HouseHop without reservation, they have been excellent throughout.”
£4,000 21.8.2012 99
Elizabeth Mood “The online estate agency method worked very well for us, especially after getting nowhere with a traditional agency. Advertisement on the full range of property websites including the main ones helped. The staff were accessible and prepared to give time to help and advise. All communication and negotiation tasks were carried out cheerfully, efficiently and at a fraction of the cost. I would certainly recommend House Hop to friends as being well managed and cost-effective.” £4,923 27.7.2012 105
Tom & Louise Bourne “We have saved a small fortune with Househop! I felt happier showing viewers around my home anyway, as I felt that agents often didn't really know the advantages of the property or were able to answer queries then and there. Apart from the viewings, they do everything else that a normal agent would and my property sold within two months of being on the market! I'd definitely recommend them. Thank you for all your help.” £5,295 23.7.2012 40
Jackie Saunders "What attracted me to House Hop was the low fixed fee and no commission, as the value of my house was in the region of £450k. Within 5 days of instructing House Hop my house appeared on all the main property portals such as Rightmove, Zoopla et cetera. Within hours of appearing on Rightmove, House Hop were ringing me to arrange viewings. The house has now been sold and by using House Hop instead of a high street agent, I estimate that I have saved myself around £6000.

House Hop provides it's clients with the same services as any traditional high street agent, except for conducting the viewings which I was happy to do. If I had been less confident, I would have delegated this task to a friend or family member.

I would definitely use House Hop again and be happy to recommend them. "
£9,438 12.7.2012 8
Jane Cox "My experience with house Hop was positive i found the staff very friendly and helpful , my phone calls were always answered and any queries i had were dealt with in a professional manner . I received a lot of interest in my property and after a few weeks i had a buyer.

I would definitely recommend House Hop Limited to friends and family , in fact i already have. "
£4,054 22.6.2012 36
David & Mary Matthews “Dave and I have been really pleased with your service. We have felt that you were always there at the end of the phone, you have kept us updated with feedback and have been polite and professional on all occasions. We would certainly recommend you to friends and relatives and would use you again in the future. We were very impressed with the care that the photographer took and with the on-line results as many sites display poor photographs and after all they are the purchasers first impression.
We were pleased with the additional information that you gathered from us and then included it in the particulars. We felt we were in control of the sale because after all we know the house and area better than anyone but you were there behind us all the way to give both ourselves and the purchaser your professional support and knowledge. I think it has been a much more relaxed way of selling as the Internet makes communication much easier and purchasers can browse the property and the area as many times as they want without disturbing us, which is a great advantage. We wish you every success for the future and a sincere thank to you all. Kind Regards Mary and Dave Matthews”
£1,606 21.6.2012 55
Barry Seagren Thank you for selling our house, and for saving us £8073.60 in the process. I expect the high street agents would say that they could have sold it more quickly, or got more for it, but I see no reason that should be the case. In these internet days I really cannot see what high street agents bring to the party that justifies their high fees.
John, you were very quick and efficient in getting us up and running when I first contacted you. Karen and Nat, you were always knowledgeable, responsive and a pleasure to deal with when we spoke by phone or email. We are very pleased with all you did for us, and are delighted to be settled (more or less) in our new home.”
£8,073 13.6.2012 148
Nick Rogers “House Hop were quick and responsive in getting the listing created and published. I was pleased with the professional quality and the premium listing helped get a steady flow of buyers throughout April, leading to an offer within just 6 weeks. I'd happily recommend the excellent value for money.” £6,739 6.6.2012 42
Jason Fonfe "I completed a few weeks ago and am writing to thank Hop House for their help and support in managing to sell my flat in a relatively short time. To be honest I haven't had particularly great experiences when dealing with estate agents in the past, so was pleasantly surprised how quick and easy the whole process was. Hop House saved me literally thousands of pounds and I am already recommending them to any of my friends looking to sell their properties in the future.” £13,444 14.5.2012 65
Maria Jones "I have been very pleased with the service it has been very professional but with a personal touch and Karen has always known who I was immediately. The sale was negotiated very well when we did have an offer.

Most people look online now when they are buying and the fee compared to an estate agent is amazing. A sales report was sent through to us weekly and Karen was available throughout the whole process.

I would highly recommend you to anyone. My boss is putting a property on the market soon and I have recommended you to him. Very many thanks for your service to us."
£2,968 14.5.2012 112
Shaan St John "I have just sold my house through Househop and would certainly use them again . I would recommend Househop to anyone - in fact I already have." £7,254 9.5.2012 244
Geoff Cook “We would – and indeed already have - recommended HouseHop to friends and colleagues. We were very impressed with the efficiency of the service – the brochure was completed in a few days, the photographer was arranged quickly so our house was on the market in a very short space of time.
We were particularly impressed with the help we received to communicate with the potential buyers when the conveyancing process seemed to take forever – it would have been easy to have ignored my emails, but Nat was most helpful. I think that high street estate agencies should be very concerned about the competition from online agencies – not only did HouseHop save us over £4000 it provided 99% of the services.”
£7,364 9.5.2012 42
Karen Williamson "When considering whether to sell my home through an online estate agent rather than the traditional high street route I was slightly sceptical. After some online research and a friend’s recommendation I chose to go with HouseHop – mainly due to the obvious advantage of considerable savings. The only service HH could not provide compared to local agent was a viewing service, which I didn’t need and therefore I couldn’t see there being any downside.

My experience of using HH has been excellent, they provided a friendly professional service (most especially from Karen M) answering my questions and liaising with potential buyers. I was very impressed with the photos taken of my house and the listing appeared on all the top online portals. My house sold within 10 days of going on the market, so listing solely online did me no harm at all! Dealing with various high street estate agents whilst looking for somewhere to buy has reinforced to me how good HH was and what a difference it makes to the whole process to be dealing with competent professional people. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend HH. "
£1,792 21.4.2012 10
Michael & Kate Wadsworth "Just a quick note to thank you and Karen for all your work in selling our property, 5 Watering Meadow. We have already recommended you to a number of friends as we were really impressed with the service you provided, a sentiment we have not felt towards estate agents in the past. We are now in our new house and are confident our old house has been sold to a lovely family so are very pleased indeed." £4,456 12.4.2012 50
Steve Blason
(5 The Avenue)
"I virtually stumbled across House Hop on the internet and I am so glad did. I used them to sell my late mother's house and found them to be very supportive and professional in all aspects of the sale. They were extremely efficient and helpful and John and Karen, kept me fully informed at all times.

Viewings were arranged and full details of feedback from perspective purchasers was given. The exposure on websites was excellent, much better than for some sellers using high street estate agents. They arranged solicitors for me also at a very competitive rate and every aspect of the sale ran very smoothly. The cost for all of this was amazing and saved me at least £2000 in fees.

Not only would I recommend them to anyone considering selling their property I have, in fact, instructed them again to now sell my own property. I wish them every success in the future, they really deserve it. Thank you House Hop. "
£2,224 29.3.2012 44
Brigid Hayward "Househop whipped action into our house selling straight away, within hours of registering we had a viewer and they just kept coming. Even in a depressed housing market our house suddenly got lots of interest, having been advertised for months in the local paper by us before hand, we have now successfully sold for full asking price.

Househop’s photos were great and Karen did a fantastic job at keeping track of all the interested parties and keeping everyone in touch. I would and already have recommend househop. I think online estate agents are the future for most people now. Good luck, I’m very happy we decided to choose your company to sell our house!!"
£4,211 27.3.2012 67
Mark Witherington "In the first instance we believe that technology has fundamentally impacted the way we buy and sell, from using Ebay to supermarket internet shopping. Houses aren't any different. Everyone we spoke to has the same methodology, i.e., check Rightmove and set alerts for price and area, scan pictures, click on what takes your interest, google map the area, do drive by, arrange visit and check similar selling prices to pitch buy/sell prices.

The net is a great leveller of information, and your estimate was in the middle of 3 'high street valuations' we had come to visit. Working in the property sector I certainly had reservations about internet start up companies and remember speaking to you concerning that. However, as you pointed out the lack of high street presence means savings for the customer and low overheads for yourselves.

The service was second to none, with Karen being one step ahead of my very frequent phone calls. Each time a lead cropped up, Karen followed it up and closed it out. I never had to deal with anyone else and one viewer even commented on the polite estate agent we had.The photos and survey went like clock work and I was able to direct the photos and finalised wording for Rightmove.

I'd suggest that anyone considering House Hop but dithering because the High Street agents say this and that in the glossy brochures, to rest easy and instruct. Don't blindly believe the marketing. Do you still trawl around the High street checking shop windows on your weekends?? Good luck and thanks, our house sold in 6 weeks!"
£2,806 26.3.2012 31
Wendy Taylor “We were happy with the service and price, Karen was really nice and helpful. The photos were fantastic and I have recommended you to my friend who is using you to sell their property.” £2,170 20.3.2012 8
Jasmeet Fyfe "Initially we were quite wary of using an internet estate agent as we'd always used traditional agents previously. Despite being quite happy with the traditional agents we never felt they quite earned the enormous fees, & at times, getting hold of them was an issue.

After using House Hop we would never go back to the old way of selling our house. From the very outset House Hop were efficient, helpful & set our minds at ease.

We were talked through the process within a couple of hours of registering (for free) on the website, the professional photographs were taken within a few days & we approved the sales brochure less than a week after first getting in touch. Exactly one week after getting in touch with House Hop, our house details were up on all the key selling sites - the sales details were great as were the numerous photographs.

Our key contact was always professional, friendly & pleasure to deal with. She was in touch to set up appointments, easy to get hold of & gave excellent advice throughout. With House Hop's help, we agreed a sale within fourteen days.

We were thrilled with the service we received from House Hop & have recommended them to friends already - never again will we use a traditional high street agent, as the service we received from House Hop was far beyond any we've received previously. "
£4,880 17.3.2012 19
Shirley Nimmo "We have already recommended House Hop! The service we received was excellent and far outshone the 2 'High St' estate agents we had tried previously. We accepted an offer within 4 weeks and proceeded to sale without a hitch. Even after sale was agreed, when you could expect a downturn in attention, there was none. Communication between ourselves and Househop was second to none and Karen, in particular, was extremely helpful. She is a star. Thank you all very much indeed." £6,869 12.3.2012 33
David Spence "Househop enabled us to present our property to thousands of potential buyers and the response we received in days was amazing.

They arranged for a professional set of photographs to be taken and only when we were completely happy with the description and presentation did it go live, we had a firm buyer within days. The service did not stop there as they continued to check out the offer and have followed the sale through to completion.

I would not hesitate to recommend their service to anyone looking to sell their property for the right price, with the minimum of fuss and for a fee that would put any high street estate agent to shame. Once again thank you for your services, Best wishes, David Spence "
£4,864 7.3.2012 2
Lisa Peake "After being paid an upfront fee house Hop really went the extra mile to help me sell my house. They had a professional manner, listened and acted appropriately to objectives, provided solutions when needed and were accessible and friendly at all times. I would heartily recommend the team not only as an alternative to traditional estate agents but also an excellent choice in the online market." £3,357 23.2.12 135
Juliet and Leslie Dye "We have had excellent communication throughout the process, and accepted an offer within 5 weeks of being on the market. All the appointments have been made efficiently and the negotiations conducted on our behalf very professionally handled. To save over £4000 on a high street agent’s fees has been very satisfactory, and we were happy to show the house ourselves. We have had none of those niggling doubts that we’ve had with local agents in the past." £6,760 22.2.12 35
Penny Taylor "Thanks you for your efficient and timely service; better by far than your high street competitors. Already, we have recommended you. Happy New Year!" £3,520 8.2.12 56
Sarah James "We were initially a little concerned about using an on-line agent, we were pretty certain though that the target buyers for our house would be internet users, so we decided to take a chance. I have to say that we have been really pleased with the service; the photos, floor plans and energy reports were produced quickly, and we were able to comment on and amend the suggested marketing details for the properties.

The agents have stayed in touch with us throughout, and favourably negotiated the sale of one of the properties within 5 days of it appearing on the major web-sites. We have saved almost £7000 on that one sale, and a similar amount on the sale of a second property through House Hop."
£7,000 27.1.12 9
Paolo and Caroline Oprandi "I got an amazing service, saving me well over five thousand pounds, which included advice from an expert that I felt I could trust completely." £5,847 25.1.12 10
Phillip and Caroline Stovell “We were very keen to adopt the online estate agent route mostly as a money saving exercise. We found the House Hop on the basis of a recommendation from moneysavingexpert.com.The recommendation was spot on and we have been absolutely delighted with the process which, as promised, has been very easy and has saved us £7500.
We had a great relationship with the staff who were very easily contactable at all times and very pleasant and did a great job at negotiating and liaising with our buyer. We highly recommend House Hop and the online estate agent route and would never return to the high street.”
£8,704 19.1.12 5
Rob and Liz Gayton Q: Why did we choose to sell online?
A: After our last experience of selling a house we became convinced that there had to be a better way than the traditional high-street agency with its expensive premises (paid for by clients!) and numerous staff.

Q: Why HouseHop?
A: Because the website was easy to use, with the various options shown clearly. Following the initial web search, phone conversations gave us the reassurance that the firm understood what we wanted and had the means to deliver. Our ‘wants’ included maximum exposure through online portals (RightMove etc) and easy communications with staff who clearly knew and remembered us in successive contacts.

Q: How did it work?
A: Very well . HouseHop took care of the essentials like arranging for an EPC assessment and taking photographs of the property. We had easy and friendly discussions about pricing, choice of photos and description.

Q: What was the outcome?
A: Highly satisfactory! We soon received an offer. The negotiations took place through House Hop and a deal was quickly agreed.

Q: What about costs?
A: Arguably one of the most important points in favour of the HH business model. We saved roughly £6000 compared with the costs we would have incurred going via the old ‘high-street’ route.

Q: Would you use them again / recommend them to friends and family?
A: Emphatically yes! House Hop delivered all the things that were sadly so lacking from our previous house sale. i.e. Friendly personal service, clarity of process and huge financial savings. It really is a no-brainer!

£6,000 29.12.11 91
Tony Maslan "I spent some time looking at all the different online agents and finally decided on House Hop not only because of the low charges but because they had the most positive feedback from satisfied customers.

On first contacting John at House Hop I was impressed with the attitude and professionalism of the company. For those that don’t know, an online estate agent does everything that a high street agent does apart from the viewings (they do though arrange and screen all the viewings and collate feedback).

After over 10 viewings an offer was put in that I accepted. But House Hop still continued to work keeping track of the sales process and arranging the Surveyor.

I would not hesitate to recommend House Hop to anyone contemplating selling their house. "
£7,012 15.12.11 44
Mark Buglass "Thank you for a superb service and I will be certainly recommending you to all my friends." £3,391 15.12.11 67
Martin Macknay "I would recommend househop to anyone wishing to sell their property. I have saved thousands, but not only that I have received an efficient and professional service from a company I trust which is most important to me. I can only see more people selling their property with House Hop in the future. I highly recommend." £3,124 8.12.11 13
Gary Plowright "I would highly recommend using House Hop. The whole process was incredibly straight forward and we saved in excess of a massive £4,500. Their service was head and shoulders above that of the high street agents. It really isn't too good to be true, but instead a refreshing new honest approach." £4,500 11.11.11 18
Fiona and Keith MacNeill "We cannot praise House Hop highly enough. All the staff are knowledgeable, efficient and lovely to deal with. Our property listing was created really quickly, to a tight deadline, and any changes we requested were implemented immediately.

It might be a modern approach towards property marketing, but the House Hop team were on hand throughout the process to offer support and advice, arrange viewings, handle negotiations, liaise with solicitors and other estate agents, and oversee key milestones, in exactly the same way as a traditional estate agent would.

More importantly, thanks to the exposure they were able to give us on property websites such as Rightmove, our house went under offer within a week. This is a brilliant concept, all for a fraction of the cost of a traditional estate agent. We estimate that we probably saved at least £4000 by using House Hop – and we certainly wouldn’t dream of using anyone else in future! "
£4,221 24.10.11 48
Richard Gaisie "I'd like to thank House Hop for the sale of my property. We were very happy with the service we received, especially as we are in Cape Town and the property is in London and House Hop is in Oxon. For convenience and from a financial perspective it makes sense to use an online agent like yourselves. I will surely recommend your services to others." £4,923 18.10.11 8
Ian Veitch "I was extremely pleased that my house was sold within days of House Hop placing it on the Internet!

Karen, my sales negotiator, is super professional and I would recommend House Hop without hesitation. "
£3,525 18.10.11 8
Shane Hamilton "House Hop, along with John and Karen’s professional approach, has helped us sell our home very quickly without the headaches and costs associated with high street estate agents. I’d have no hesitation in recommending House Hop to my family and closest friends as well as anyone wanting to list their home.

It’s not just a ‘pay up & be forgotten’ company, John’s expertise in real estate along with his friendly demeanour made the whole process quick, easy and with great results…as well as saving many thousands of pounds on high street estate agents fees."
£4,923 5.10.11 22
Haydn Pole "I would thoroughly recommend Househop. Within 24 hours of publication, I had a steady stream of enquiries leading to several offers securing a sale within 6 weeks. Considering the wealth of professional advice, personal service and vastly lower fees to High Street agents, I would not hesitate to use them again. " £1,958 1.10.11 55
Stacey and Craig Euden "We used House Hop and John has been brilliant.

We put our house on the market and within the same day, someone had seen it on Rightmove, knocked on our door asking for a viewing, came for a viewing the following day and offered us our asking price, all within 24 hours of it first being advertised.

That's a good service for you!"
£2,459 11.8.11 2
* Amount saved based on quote offered by competing high street agent (i.e., the agent the client would have used if they had not used House Hop) if known or, if not known, the average UK commission rate of 1.8% plus vat.